Books to Read Fall 2014

Fall 2014: Books to add to your reading list.

A few book suggestions for your fall reading list, synopsis & buying information at links below:

1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs-  A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. (continue reading…)

2.  The Fever: A Novel by Megan Abbott – The Nash family is close-knit. Tom is a popular teacher, father of two teens: Eli, a hockey star and girl magnet, and his sister Deenie, a diligent student. Their seeming stability, however, is thrown into chaos when Deenie’s best friend is struck by a terrifying, unexplained seizure in class. Rumors of a hazardous outbreak spread through the family, school and community.  (continue reading…)

3. The Dinner By Herman Koch- Each couple has a fifteen-year-old son. The two boys are united by their accountability for a single horrific act; an act that has triggered a police investigation and shattered the comfortable, insulated worlds of their families. (continue reading…)

4. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty – A murder…a tragic accident… or just parents behaving badly?   What’s indisputable is that someone is dead.  But who did what? Big Little Lies follows three women, each at a crossroads. (continue reading…)

5. Orange is the New Black: My Year in a Women’s Prison by Piper Kerman – Relax in the OITNB off-season with the book that started it all. Season 3 will be available on Netflix Summer 2015 (continue reading…)

6. The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell – Following a terrible fight with her mother over her boyfriend, fifteen-year-old Holly Sykes slams the door on her family and her old life. But Holly is no typical teenage runaway: A sensitive child once contacted by voices she knew only as “the radio people,” Holly is a lightning rod for psychic phenomena. (continue reading…)

7. What If? by Randall Munroe – Serious scientific questions to absurd hypothetical questions (continue reading…)

8. Yes Please by Amy Poehler – Release Date: October 28, 2014 In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice. (continue reading…)

9. Not that Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham – Release Date September 30, 2014 For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, and David Sedaris, this hilarious, poignant, and extremely frank collection of personal essays confirms Lena Dunham—the acclaimed creator, producer, and star of HBO’s Girls—as one of the brightest and most original writers working today. (continue reading…)

10. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – The movie, Mockingjay Part I, will be released on November 21st. Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding. (continue reading…)

11. The Paying Guests by Sara Waters – Release Date: September 16, 2014. It is 1922, and London is tense. Ex-servicemen are disillusioned; the out-of-work and the hungry are demanding change. And in South London, in a genteel Camberwell villa—a large, silent house now bereft of brothers, husband, and even servants—life is about to be transformed as impoverished widow Mrs. Wray and her spinster daughter, Frances, are obliged to take in lodgers. (continue reading…)

12. Women in Clothes by Sheila Heti, Heidi Julavits and Leanne Shapton – A conversation among hundreds of women of all nationalities—famous, anonymous, religious, secular, married, single, young, old—on the subject of clothing, and how the garments we put on every day define and shape our lives. (continue reading…)

13. Every Secret Thing by Laura Lippman – Every Secret Thing is a riveting story of love and murder, guilt and innocence, adult sins and childhood darkness that the New York Times Book Review hailed as, “powerful…disturbing.” (continue reading…)

14. Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer- Book 1 in the “Southern Reach Trilogy” Area X has been cut off from the rest of the continent for decades. Nature has reclaimed the last vestiges of human civilization. The first expedition returned with reports of a pristine, Edenic landscape; the second expedition ended in mass suicide, the third expedition in a hail of gunfire as its members turned on one another. (continue reading…)

15. The Long Way Home by Louise Penny – Together with his former second-in-command, Jean-Guy Beauvoir, and Myrna Landers, they journey deeper and deeper into Québec. And deeper and deeper into the soul of Peter Morrow. A man so desperate to recapture his fame as an artist, he would sell that soul. (continue reading…)

PostFooterInstagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *